Phil Murphy, Governor
Sheila Oliver, Lieutenant Governor

2017 Election Results HERE

NJ Legislative District 16
Somerset County

Branchburg Township, Delaware Township (Hunterdon), Flemington Borough, Hillsborough Township, Manville Borough, Millstone Borough, Montgomery Township, Princeton Borough, Raritan Township, Readington Township, Rocky Hill Borough, Somerville Borough, South Brunswick Township, Stockton Borough

Election Results: Legislative District 16


Assemblyman Roy Freiman

NJ General Assembly


Assemblyman Andrew Zwicker
South Brunswick

NJ General Assembly


NJ Legislative District 17
Somerset County

Franklin Township (Somerset), Milltown Borough, New Brunswick City, North Brunswick Township, Piscataway Township
Election Results: Legislative District


Senator Bob Smith
NJ Senate


Assemblyman Joseph Danielsen
Franklin Township
NJ General Assembly


Assemblyman Joseph Egan
New Brunswick
NJ General Assembly


NJ Legislative District 22
Somerset County

Clark Township, Dunellen Borough, Fanwood Borough, Green Brook Township, Linden City, Middlesex Borough, North Plainfield Borough, Plainfield City, Rahway City, Scotch Plains Township, Winfield Township

Election Results: Legislative District 22


Senator Nicholas Scutari

NJ Senate

Assemblywoman Linda Carter

NJ General Assembly


Assemblyman James Kennedy

NJ General Assembly


Steve Peter
Somerset County Clerk

Sara Sooy and Shanel Robinson
Somerset County Freeholder-elect


Bernardsville Mayor
Kevin Sooy

North Plainfield Mayor
Michael Giordano


Franklin Township Mayor
Phil Kramer


Millstone Mayor
Ray Heck


South Bound Brook Mayor
Chris Schoffner

A Word From Our Chairwoman, Peg Schaffer


In 2016, we were rocked by the results of the Presidential election, but instead of laying down, Somerset County Democrats stood up and decided to fight in 2017. Towns that had not had active Democratic parties in years fielded full slates and filled district committee seats. Legislative districts which had no candidates in recent elections drew qualified, eager and active candidates and campaigns. From the smallest town to the Governor’s race, Somerset County has never seen so many talented, spirited and ready to serve candidates all working together to win.

And win we did, together. Having strong candidates for every municipality, county office, legislative district and gubernatorial race was vital to our overall success. Every Democratic candidate and campaign in Somerset County was a winner this year, though not all candidates won election.

Above are the candidates we were able to push over the finish line.

Governor-elect Phil Murphy was the first Democratic gubernatorial candidate to carry Somerset County, winning over the Guadagno ticket by almost two percent.

Our slates in the 17th and 22nd districts – Senators Bob Smith and Nick Scutari, and Assembly members Joe Danielsen, Joe Egan, Jerry Green and Jim Kennedy – won not only their Somerset County portion but cruised to reelection. Sadly, we lost Asm Jerry Green in April. Before he died, Jerry was the longest-serving assemblymember in New Jersey serving 26 years from 1992 until his death in April 2018.

In the 16th District, Assembly member Andrew Zwicker won reelection and Assembly member Roy Freiman won handily, and for the first time we have two Democrats representing the 16th district.  Roy, a Hillsborough resident, joins Franklin’s Joe Danielsen as Somerset County’s own state legislators.

Somerset County Clerk Steve Peter came through with an historic win, securing a Somerset County-wide Democratic office for the first time since 1979.  Steve’s victory also means that a Democrat is responsible for the County Clerk’s office for the first time ever.

Bernardsville also scored an historic victory, with Christine Zamarra and Thomas O’Dea Jr. winning two Democratic seats on the Council in the same election for the first time ever.

Bound Brook secured the reelection of Council member Abel Gomez and maintained Democratic control of the Borough Council.

Franklin had five ward seats on the ballot, and won every district – all 51 – for their Democratic Candidates. Council members Ted Chase, Charles Onyejiaka, Carl Wright, and James Vassanella all won reelection and Will Galtieri won his seat for the first time.

Montgomery saw Sadaf Jaffer with a big win for the Township Committee, breaking through in 2017 after a very well-run write-in effort in 2016.

Peapack-Gladstone was another win, with Council member-elect Amy Dietrich securing a resounding win as the top vote recipient for the first time in decades, maybe ever.

Raritan voted for Marine veteran Pablo Orozco to join the Borough Council, where he will replace the retiring Jim Foohey.

Rocky Hill reelected Council members Billy Dawson and Robert Uhrik on the Democratic line, Democrat Phil Kartsonis was reelected Mayor off-line and Democrat Amy Kirtlan was elected to the Council off-line as well.

Somerville, our county seat, reelected Dennis Sullivan and elected Fred Wied V to the Borough Council.  The Council is now completely in Democratic hands, and with the Republican Mayor elected to the Freeholder board that seat will be up for grabs next year.

South Bound Brook Democrats had a huge win as they took control of the municipal government with Richard Eikhorst and Tony Gordon defeating two incumbent Republican council members.

Democrats ran great campaigns in Bedminster, Bernards, Branchburg, Bridgewater, Far Hills, Green Brook, Hillsborough, Manville, Warren and Watchung, and are already lining up great candidates for the 2018 November campaign.

And special note needs to go out to our slates in legislative districts 21, 23 and 25 who against great odds put up unwavering fights and scared the heck out of entrenched incumbents.  In no small way, these campaigns made wins in some of their towns and in the Clerk’s race possible by giving voters a choice.

We made huge strides this year, winning historic victories at the local, county and statewide levels. These wins have set us up for a fantastic 2018, a year when we have a US Senate, two US House seats, two Freeholder, and a host of local campaigns to manage.

If you are interested in running for any of these seats, or in volunteering with your municipal or county Democratic organizations, please contact us.

We won this year because all 29 campaigns worked together and supported each other. I’m proud of everyone who worked this year, from phone bankers to canvassers to campaign managers to candidates. Thank you all for your tireless efforts, and your reward is more work to win in 2018!


Peg Schaffer, Chair
Somerset County Democratic Committee