Democrats Make History in Somerset County Freeholder Race

Somerset County Democrats had an amazing Election Cycle in the Midterms of 2018.

1) For the first time in 40 years, Democrats won two seats on the Somerset County Freeholder Board. Congratulations, Deputy Mayor Shanel Robinson and Somerset County School Board official Sara Sooy, who won seats on the Somerset County Freeholder Board. Shanel is the first African American and Sara is the first Latina to serve on the SCFB. When they take office in January, along with GOP Freeholder Pat Walsh, they will make up the first majority of woman in SCFB history.

2) Bob Menendez won 51% of the Somerset County vote.

3) Tom Malinowski won 52% of the Somerset County CD7 vote unseating incumbent Leonard Lance; first Democrat to win the House seat after 37 years.

4) Bonnie Watson Coleman won 68% of the CD12 vote.

5) Linda Carter won 67% of the LD22 vote.

6) Dr Jeff Hammond, first-time candidate, won another seat for Bernardsville.

7) Joan Harris won a Council seat in Bernards Township; the first time a Dem has won a seat in 20 years!

8) Vinnie Petti, Brad Galeta and Robert Dixon won Council seats in Bound Brook.

9) Patricia Zamorski won a Council seat in Manville.

10) Ray Heck won the Mayor’s office in Millstone with 86% of the vote.

11) Cat Gural and Marvin Schuldiner won Council seats in Montgomery, giving Democrats control of the town government.

12) Democrats Wendy Schaefer, Larry LaRonde, Everett Merrill, Doug Singleterry and Aimee Corzo swept five Council seats in North Plainfield.

13) Jamie Murphy won a seat on the Peapack/Gladstone Council, the second Democrat in two year to win there.

14) Robert Uhrik won the Mayor’s chair in Rocky Hill, Tom Malinowski’s home town.

15) Dennis Sullivan, 15 years after losing the Mayor’s office by THREE VOTES, won by almost 600 votes in Somerville. Tom Mitchell and RanD Pitts won reelection to the Somerville Council.

16) Alison Fetten and Elizabeth Konkle won seats on the South Bound Brook Council.

17) And last – but in many ways not only not least but most – Democrats swept in Watchung! Keith Balla will be the new Mayor, and Lindsay Goodloe and Daryl Eisenberg Knegten will join the Borough Council.

We won this year because all 29 campaigns worked together and supported each other. I’m proud of everyone who worked this year, from phone bankers to canvassers to campaign managers to candidates. Thank you all for your tireless efforts, and your reward is more work to win in 2019!


Peg Schaffer, Chair
Somerset County Democratic Committee

Congratulations, Newly-Elected Freeholders, Shanel Robinson and Sara Sooy!